Creating a Website While an Expat

My family and I lived in Australia for three years. In order to keep family and friends back home informed as to what we were experiencing, I created our family website. This is very easy to do and does not require a lot of tech savvy.

Usually your internet provider will give you a certain amount of space for creating your own website. In AOL, it is called AOL Hometown. They advertise it as “the place to get your own page – you don’t need to know anything about Web publishing to get a free page in AOL Hometown.”

For Beginners? They provide the 1-2-3 Publishing Tool. This is for people who have never had a home page before. Their claim is that in in less than three minutes you can have a home page. They provide templates that make it very easy.

Below is one of the pictures that was on our website of the boys in their uniforms with Jackie.

Boys in School Uniform

Once we returned home to the US, it was time to keep in touch with all the friends we had made overseas. My new internet provider came with the easy-to-use Site Builder. This again allowed me to create my own web site and to share photos and activities. There’s is no software to download and everything can be done online.

I haven’t updated the site in a while, but you can view it by going to the following link – http://sitebuilder.verizon.net/trellix/sitebuilder/f_edit_page.html

Trust me, if you have access to the internet, you have a very easy and inexpensive way to share all you are experiencing with family and friends while on assignment or even when you return home!

6 Responses to Creating a Website While an Expat

  1. Lauren says:

    This is such a great idea, even for families that are not relocating!

  2. Liz says:

    I wish I had thought about this when my family lived overseas – thanks for the thought!

  3. findingschools says:

    Liz, I think you also were able to enjoy our website from afar

  4. Patty says:

    Karen, My how your “boys” have grown! What good advice. One day, maybe I’ll make a Bottomley page.

  5. Karen says:

    What a great idea! Every family should do this whether or not they are abroad. Why wait until the once a year Christmas card?

  6. findingschools says:

    Sorry guys, the link that I gave before was incorrect. Here is the correct link. You can see how big the boys are now –
    http://mysite.verizon.net/vze4dh93/happeningsatthehollomans/

Leave a Reply

